KMWeb Designs – Online Marketing Tips For Your Website

Who Was Involved With The Good Friday Agreement

The agreement consists of two interconnected documents, both of which were agreed in Belfast on Good Friday, 10 April 1998: there are, of course, a large number of others that have helped to push the agreement across the line, including political parties such as the Northern Ireland Women`s Coalition, an all-female party that participated in the peace negotiations. religious figures, and of course the people of Northern Ireland, who voted overwhelmingly in favour. At the same time, elections in the Republic of Ireland in February 2020 promise a changing political climate with unpredictable consequences for the island. In addition to the defeat of Varadkar`s centrist Fine Gael party, the election saw the dramatic rise of Republican Sinn Fein, which won the most votes and expanded its seats in parliament from twenty-two to thirty-seven. However, given that neither party wins an absolute majority and the two main centrist parties rule out entering a government with Sinn Fein, coalition talks are likely to be tense. The agreement was formally reached between the British and Irish governments and eight political parties in Northern Ireland, including Sinn Féin, the Ulster Unionist Party, the SDLP and the Alliance Party. The DUP was the only major political faction that opposed it. John Hume in talks with Gerry Adams and Martin McGuinness In 2010, the signing of the Hillsborough Agreement transferred police and judicial powers to the Northern Ireland Assembly, which began later that year. It also included an agreement on the controversial parades that had led to ongoing conflicts between communities. On the 11. What began as a civil rights movement – Catholics protested what they saw as discrimination by the Protestant-dominated Northern Ireland government – turned violent, with the involvement of paramilitary groups on both sides and the arrival of the British army in 1969. The direct London regime ended in Northern Ireland when power was formally transferred to the new Northern Ireland Assembly, the North-South Council of Ministers and the British-Irish Council when the original regulations of the British-Irish Agreement entered into force on 2 December 1999.

No comments

Comments are closed.